Cressbrook Peak District Information Website - accommodation, holiday cottages, attractions, towns villages, walking climbing cycling

Sett Valley Trail, from Hayfield to New Mills, Derbyshire Peak District

The Peak District covers much of Derbyshire and parts of Staffordshire, Cheshire and Yorkshire. There are numerous interesting towns such as Ashbourne, Bakewell, Buxton, Leek, Matlock and Wirksworth, plus many enchanting villages

Sett Valley Trail

opportunities for exercisespectacular scenery

The Sett Valley Trail is a cycle trail which follows the line of the former railway between Hayfield and New Mills. This branch line closed in the early 1970s and the line was purchased by Derbyshire County Council, who converted it into a cycling and walking route. It is a Pram and mobility scooter accessible walk.

The trail is approximately 4km long and winds it way along the bottom of the Sett Valley in magnificent scenery, but views are rather restricted by the number of trees growing alongside the trail.

Coming from Hayfield, the trail passes through the hamlets of Birch Vale and Thornsett before reaching New Mills. Once here, it is possible to continue via The Torrs Riverside Park to pick up the Goyt Way, which follows the River Goyt down to Marple and Compstall, a further 10km.
Ordnance Survey Grid Reference: SK036869 Click here for Google Maps

See location on

How to get there

By Road:
The New Mills end is accessible from the long-stay car park in the centre of New Mills. The Hayfield end is at the old station, just off the A624 main road between Buxton and Glossop. There is a pay and display car park.

By Bus: Buses run from New Mills to Hayfield. There is a regular bus service from Stockport to New Mills.

By Train: New Mills Central station is only 400m from the start of the Trail. New Mills Newtown station is approximately 1km distant.
When is it open?

Open all day, all year
What does it cost?


Prices and opening times are shown as a guideline only and may vary.

All material © Cressbrook Multimedia 1997-2017